A Brief Story About Zelda

LinkSwordsmiths

Back in my day, my brother and I used to walk fifteen miles in the snow to buy our video games.  We would work 26 hours a day in the steel mill, save our pennies for months on end while only eating old newspapers soaked in rainwater as food.  Eventually, we would earn enough money be able to afford our precious Super Nintendo games.   And we used to save our games on the cartridges themselves, and we were grateful, dag’nabit!

LinkController

That is how I feel going into this story.  Old and senile towards todays video game youth (who definitely don’t know how good they’ve got it these days).  In reality, my brother and I were rather fortunate to have a father who also enjoyed video games for a time.  After the Super Nintendo came out, my Dad’s interest in actually playing games with us declined sharply(I think it was the addition of the X, Y, L, and R buttons that he found to be unnecessary and frustrating).  But his love for his children meant we were spoiled by getting a new video game on each of our birthdays.  One year, my brother and I had our little hearts set on the Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.

LinkMemory

At this point, a little explanation of how memory on video games has evolved over the years might be necessary.  You see, most modern games utilize a hard drive that is built into the system for saving your game progression.  Most of them even save the game automatically as you play, just to make sure you don’t lose any progress due to a freak power outage(or glitchy game design).  But back in the days of the Super Nintendo, there was no hard drive built into the system itself.  We didn’t even use the Memory Cards that became common with the advent of the Sony Playstation.  The cartridges that Nintendo produced would actually contain your game progresssion.  This way, whenever you would rent a game from Blockbuster (a store that used to exist where one could rent movies and video games), you often got to see the previous saved games of those who had rented before you.  This often left me with a feeling of seeing history laid out before me, or gave me a rival to work against.

LinkSelect

ANYWAY, as my brother and I placed the newest tale of Link into the Super Nintendo, we discovered something odd.  This brand new game our Dad had just given to us as a gift, already had saved data on it.  It was like something out of a horror story, as if the game was cursed or haunted by some spirit who adventured before us.  Not only were there games in progress on our cartridge, but one of them had already completed the entire game!  And collected all the heart pieces!  Needless to say, my brother and I were perplexed by this mystery.  These were before the days of buying games used, where the titles you bought may have had several owners before you, and thus would explain previous game saves.

LinkTitle

To this day, we have not figured out exactly how phantom data made its way onto our copy of A Link to the Past.  Maybe we somehow got a test copy from Nintendo.  Maybe the employees of Toys R Us repackaged this game after taking it home to play.  I still think it may have been ghosts.  Some spectre who had completed our game before us, and needed us to beat his legacy to lay his soul to rest.  The saved game has been long since deleted, in order to make room for each of our own saves, but the story still lingers, a secret never quite resolved.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Brief Story About Zelda

  1. Christian D says:

    Speaking of saving data on cartridges. I recently went to play Goldeneye and most of my data was gone. It was strange because it appeared as thought it was not my game. I had finished everything on 00 and had unlocked all of the cheats (except for invincibility, double silver pp7, and double rcp 90s). But now on my cart I was in the middle of agent, and had no cheats except for big heads. Did my data get corrupted over time? Did someone delete my data?

Leave a Reply

