Laura’s Picks of 2014

Bayonetta2RedGekka

As with my list from 2013, my top picks of the year aren’t necessarily games that came out in 2014 (technically, I think only one did). These are the three games that I spent the majority of my time playing in 2014. I’m not going into too much detail about them here because I want to do a full write up on each in the future. So let’s jump in, shall we?

Bayonetta 2

Bayonetta2Doggie

I haven’t finished this game yet. I think I am nearly done and I have loved every minute of it. I can hardly follow the plot and I can barely scrape a passing grade at the end of each chapter, but Bayonetta 2 is such a joy in my life. Even moving around in this game is fun. If you enjoyed Bayonetta, this is more of the same (in a good way). It is still the bombastic, high-energy, firework display that the first one was with some new moves, weapons, and costumes. This is a game that doesn’t take itself too seriously, and I love that.

Gran Turismo 6

This is an odd choice for me. It is not my usual taste in games and I don’t generally don’t care about cars. But one day I was in a mood- I wanted to play a racing game, so I bought Gran Turismo 6 on a whim. I never played any of it’s predecessors, but it was exactly what I was looking for. It’s fun to play (even with no explosions or fancy lights). This game obviously had a lot of love put into it. I actually became mildly obsessed with this game for about a month straight, though I don’t think I play it the way it was intended…

GranTurismo6Track

I don’t play online because I am not polite enough to play online. I buy cars only when I really need them or really want them; I don’t collect them or upgrade them very often. The few cars that I do have in my garage are black, with one exception (a flamboyant, glittery, orange/purple atrocity that I simply needed in my life). I have little patience for stats. As in life, my interest in cars is a purely practical one: Get me from point A to point B. Only now it is a matter of getting from point A to point B fast enough for a gold medal. I play for gold with such ferocious determination. I don’t play to complete a task, I play to conquer it…which might explain why I haven’t actually beaten this game yet.

Hatoful Boyfriend: A School of Hope and White Wings

Hatoful_BoyfriendBreakfast

I played this game so much since it was released in English this year. For those who don’t know about this delightful little delicacy, it is a visual novel developed by PigeoNation Inc. You play as the only human at a private school for gifted, sapient birds. It is just ridiculous and you should totally play it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Laura’s Picks of 2014

  1. Hatm0nster says:

    A pigeon dating sim….wait what? 😀

  2. […] though it wasn’t featured on either of our individual lists, Mario Kart 8 was easily GIMMGP’s Top Game of 2014.  This comes as no surprise to us, since […]

Leave a Reply

