Killer Instinct – Tooth and Claw

When Killer Instinct was released for the Super Nintendo in 1995, there was a compact disc packaged with the game. Aptly named Killer Cuts, this was the first video game soundtrack I ever owned.  Up until that time, my brother and I were ripping game music using a complex combination of stereo equipment and cassette tapes.  It blew my young mind that I could simply buy a game and have the soundtrack included with my purchase.

Killer Cuts featured arranged versions of each fighter’s theme song.  As a kid already obsessed with all things spooky, I gravitated towards the characters Sabrewulf and Spinal, a cybernetic werewolf and reanimated skeleton respectively.  Even though I played more as the perpetually grinning skeletal warrior, it was Sabrewulf’s theme that I really enjoyed.

KISabrewulf

Composers Robin Beanland and Graeme Norgate wrote a fantastic track to match the mournful werewolf and his gothic abode.  An epic baroque tune with organ samples is the perfect theme for the gothic halls of Castle Sabrewulf.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Killer Instinct – Tooth and Claw

  1. Hatm0nster says:

    That was…amazing! I’m simultaneously thrilled and saddened that this was the first time that I’d heard it! The pipe organs, wolf hounds, and cackles were worked in so perfectly! It’s hard to believe that this was a theme from a fighting game!

Leave a Reply

